Home > Departments > Michaelis School of Fine Art
Home > Departments > Michaelis School of Fine Art

Michaelis School of Fine Art

Albert Luthuli (detail), cast bronze, 2005The University of Cape Town's Fine Arts department dates from 1925, and is known internationally as the Michaelis School of Fine Art.

It is recognised as one of South Africa's foremost institutions for the study of fine art and new media at an advanced level; and special recognition is given to its place in Africa. The school incorporates sections of Painting, Sculpture, Print-media, Photography and New Media, the Centre for Photography, LLAREC, the Katrine Harries Print Cabinet, and the School's Art Gallery. 

Our admissions policy recognises prior learning and mature-age exemptions. For the full two years of study studio-space is made available together with the close attention of a dedicated and metier-competent supervisor.

Graduates move into a range of visual art areas including professional art production; media (film, digital multimedia, photography, design and advertising); museology and curatorship; art criticism; general arts administration; set design; art therapy; art dealership; and art education in primary, secondary and tertiary institutions.

Michaelis graduates have won a variety of prizes and awards such as the Standard Bank Young Artist, the Vita Art Prize, and Sasol and Cape Town Public Sculpture Awards. Numerous past students have gone on to take up positions in tertiary institutions nationally and internationally. Many of our other graduates teach in secondary schools and other institutions. Our graduates are regularly accepted into higher degree programmes at the world's finest art academies.

Distinguished artists and scholars are regularly invited to lecture and teach at the school and the impact of Michaelis graduates is felt throughout South Africa and beyond. Marlene Dumas, Gavin Jantjes, and Zwelethu Mthethwa are just a few of our graduates. New rising stars include Mikhael Subotzky, Thembinkosi Goniwe, Berni Searle, Ruth Sacks and Ed Young.

Visit the Michaelis School of Fine Art website.